The coat of arms of Mauritius are stipulated in the "Mauritius Laws 1990 Vol.2 SCHEDULE". The arms were designed by the Mayor of Johannesburg in 1906, Johann Van Der Puf. The Coat of Arms was granted to Mauritius by letters patent of King Edward VII at St. James on 25 August, 1906. Its motto evokes the island’s heroic past: ‘Star and Key of the Indian Ocean’. These Arms were given their presentation under the administration of Sir Cavendish Boyle, K.C.M.G. (1904-1909), together with this motto: “Stella Clavisque Maris Indici”.

The armorial ensigns and supporters of Mauritius are –

Described as –

(a) for arms-
quarterly azure and or, in the first quarter a lymphad of the last in the second , 3 palm trees eradicated vert, in the third, a key in pale the wards downwards gules, and in the issuant, from the base a pile, and ain chief a mullet argent and

(b) for the supporters-
on the dexter side, a dodo per bend sinister embattled gules and argent, and on the sinister side, a sambur deer per head embattled argent and gules, each supporting a sugar cane erect proper,

(c) with the motto "Stella Clavisque Maris Indici”