12 March is one of the most important public holidays in Mauritius.

Mauritius gained its independence on 12 March 1968 and the constitution was amended to make the Country a Republic on the same date in 1992. The national flag of Mauritius was adopted upon independence. It consists of four horizontal bands of equal width, coloured red, blue, yellow, and green, Red represents the struggle for freedom and independence, Blue represents the Indian Ocean, in the middle of which Mauritius, Yellow represents the new light of independence. It is also known as the Four Bands and Les Quatre Bandes.

The flag was recorded at the College of Arms in London on 9 January 1968. "Motherland" is the national anthem of Mauritius. The music was composed by Philippe Gentil and the lyrics were written by Jean-Georges Prosper. The anthem describes the luscious landscape of Mauritius. It also mentions the qualities of its people: peace, justice, and liberty.